Wednesday , May 23 2018
Home / News / 1st Test 2017: New Zealand beat Bangladesh by 7 wickets

1st Test 2017: New Zealand beat Bangladesh by 7 wickets

WELLINGTON, NEW ZEALAND - JANUARY 16:  Mitchell Santner (c) of New Zealand celebrates with teammates after dismissing Shakib Al Hasan of Bangladesh during day five of the First Test match between New Zealand and Bangladesh at Basin Reserve on January 16, 2017 in Wellington, New Zealand.  (Photo by Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images)

New Zealand beat Bangladesh by 7 wickets in the first cricket test at the Basin Reserve on Monday to take a 1-0 lead in the two-test series: Kane Williamson seized New Zealand’s run chase by the scruff of the neck to lead his side to an improbable seven-wicket victory against Bangladesh on the final day of the first Test at the Basin Reserve on Monday.

The New Zealand skipper scored 104 not out, reaching his century from 89 balls, and combined with Ross Taylor (60) in a 163-run partnership as the hosts reached 217 for three with 17.2 overs remaining in the match.
Bangladesh 595-8 (Shakib Al Hasan 217, Mushfiqur Rahman 159, Mominul Haque 64, Tamim Iqbal 56, Sabbir Rahman 54 not out; Neil Wagner 4-151, Trent Boult 2-131, Tim Southee 2-158).

New Zealand, 1st Innings 539 (Tom Latham 177, Mitchell Santner 73, Kane Williamson 53, Henry Nicholls 53; Kamrul Islam 3-87, Mahmudullah 2-15, Shakib Al Hasan 2-78, Subashin Roy 2-89).

Bangladesh, 2nd Innings 160-9 (Sabbir Rahman 50, Imrul Kayes 36 not out; Trent Boult 3-53, Mitchell Santner 2-36, Neil Wagner 2-37).

New Zealand, 2nd Innings 217-3 (Kane Williamson 104 not out, Ross Taylor 60; Mehedi Hasan 2-66).

Toss – New Zealand
Bangladesh 595/8d & 160
New Zealand 539 & 217/3 (39.4 ov)
New Zealand won by 7 wickets
Series – New Zealand led the 2-match series 1-0
Test debuts – Subashis Roy and Taskin Ahmed (Bangladesh)
Player of the match – TWM Latham (New Zealand)
Umpires – M Erasmus (South Africa) and PR Reiffel (Australia)
TV umpire – NJ Llong (England)
Match referee – J Srinath (India)
Reserve umpire – CM Brown

Check Also

Live Cricket: PTV Sports Live Streaming | Quetta Gladiators vs Peshawar Zalmi PSL 23rd T20 Live

Live Cricket : Watch PSL Live Match Between Quetta Gladiators vs Peshawar Zalmi PSL 23rd …

Leave a Reply